Sunday 15 February 2015

An Odd Quartet

An Odd Quartet is a collection of four dark short stories, each with a twist in the tale.

The Yellow Lady

A grave robber encounters a ghost from a story he was told as a child.

This Empty Place

At the heat death of the universe, the Grim Reaper contemplates his existence.

Forced Entry

A special forces team enters a suburban house to rescue a family taken hostage, they encounter more than they were trained for.

The Reluctant Demon

A young demon prepares to take his possession exam.

This Drabble Enhanced edition also includes some of my favourite drabbles (100 word stories).

Review Highlights

"This is an intriguing collection which I raced through in an evening. Each tale has an unexpected element to it and this is what makes the book interesting."

"I enjoyed the darkly satisfying twists that surfaced in a couple of the tales, and I loved the imagery throughout."

"All in all a very good and entertaining read with some well executed and different approaches to the stories."

"It has been speculated that writers of the bizarre must have broken minds. I say, they simply have potent imaginations because they are the ones who have the ability to see beyond the edge of reality, capture those images, and truly bring them to life. Michael Brookes is surely in possession of a most potent imagination."

An Odd Quartet is available from these online stores:

Buy now from Amazon (US):
Buy now from Amazon (UK):
Buy now from Barnes & Noble (Nook):
Buy now from iTunes (US):
Buy now from iTunes (UK):
Buy now from Kobo:
Buy now from Page Foundry:
Read now on Scribd:
Read now on Oyster;

No comments:

Post a Comment